Close your account

Follow the steps below to permanently close your account.

Mobile

  1. From the menu icon, select Profile & Settings.

  2. Scroll down below the Account menu and select Close account.

  3. Review the information and follow the remaining prompts.

Web

  1. From the bottom of the Profile page, select Close account.

  2. Review the information, enter your password and select Close Account to continue.

  • Dust balances, or balances that are too small to cover any fees associated with selling the crypto, can be:

    • Sent to a different Coinbase user's email.

    • Forfeited. By contacting us, Coinbase can forfeit and zero out any remaining balances.

    • Sold. Coinbase allows customers to remove dust in their accounts by attempting to sell it. Similar to forfeiting the funds, this process will simply remove the balance from your account.

  • Accounts must not have pending transactions.

  • If you have a web3 wallet, transfer all of your assets to an external wallet first to avoid permanently losing access to those assets.

    • Coinbase can’t recover these assets after your account is closed and is not responsible for any losses arising out of your failure to transfer your assets to an external wallet.

  • You can request to delete an unverified account by contacting us.

Personal information

Coinbase retains some personal information for a minimum of five years or as necessary to comply with legal obligations, to prevent fraud or to resolve disputes, as outlined in the Coinbase Privacy Policy.