Coinbase Cloud Help Center

Manage your Participate cluster

Participate customers work with one of our Engagement Managers to run a dedicated validator node as part of a cluster. If you’re interested in becoming a customer, please contact us using our Cloud interest form. If you’re an existing customer, reach out to your dedicated Engagement Manager.

A cluster is a network-specific node or group of nodes and supporting infrastructure. This blockchain infrastructure often includes load-balancing tools and/or monitoring and alerting services. The additional infrastructure of the cluster is intended to help keep the node secure and accessible.

Add more nodes to your Participate cluster

Every cluster is designed to run the appropriate node(s) and supporting infrastructure so that you can actively participate in a protocol. If you want to have additional nodes, you need to spin up a new cluster.

You should work with your Experience Manager to launch more Participate clusters.

Change the configuration of your Participate cluster

It is possible to change the configuration of your Participate cluster after it’s running. Reach out to your dedicated Engagement Manager to request changes.

Get people to delegate to your Participate cluster

Each protocol uses different methods for bonding and delegation. If you want to understand how to help people delegate to your cluster, view our Step-by-Step Guide.

Determine a validator fee for your Participate cluster

The validator fee is the fee charged to delegators to stake to your validator node. It is calculated as a set percentage of the total rewards earned by delegators. 

On most protocols, node operators can set a validator fee percentage anywhere between 0-100%, depending on their desire to attract delegation. 

To determine the range of fees other validators charge on a protocol, visit a block explorer for that protocol or ecosystem and look at the top 25 validators. You can use those as an indication of what others are charging. Operators typically choose a validator fee within a certain range in order to be competitive on the network. If an operator doesn’t want outside delegation, they’ll generally set their fee at 100%.

Coinbase Cloud charges a service fee on all rewards accumulated by the node operator, which includes rewards earned from their delegation commission fee.

When determining your validator fee for your managed node, it is important to remember that:

  • The validator fee is the fee charged to delegators to stake to your validator node. It is not the fee percentage that you receive.

  • Coinbase Cloud takes a small percentage of all the rewards earned by your node, including those from your delegators, as a service fee.

  • You earn a node operator fee both by being a direct staker and from commission fees collected from delegators.

Image showing how to calculate a node operator fee. Image shows your node operator fee % + Coinbase Cloud service fee % = Validator fee %. Image also shows an example of how validator fees appear to delegators when they're selecting a node to delegate to.

Delete your Participate cluster

To delete your cluster you must unbond and wait the entire unbonding period. You are able to unbond at any time, subject to protocol parameters like the minimum staking period. The unbonding process, which varies by protocol, may be possible through the protocol dashboard or may have to be done by interacting directly with the blockchain. 

You can find information about the period of time required to unbond from each of the protocols that we support on the help center. If you need further assistance with unbonding, please reach out to your dedicated Engagement Manager. 

To delete your Participate cluster after the unbonding period: 

This action is permanent. A deleted cluster cannot be recovered.

  1. Sign in to your Coinbase Cloud account.

  2. Select Participate on your homepage.

  3. Locate the cluster you would like to delete from the dashboard.

  4. Select the cluster.

  5. Go to the Manage tab.

  6. Select Destroy cluster.

  7. Confirm by entering the cluster name in the Destroy cluster pop-up window. Then select Destroy cluster.

Your cluster will show on your dashboard as deleting on the protocol network for the time it takes to remove but you will not be able to select the cluster during that time.

footer cta icon

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us