How can I close my account?

Knowing Your Account: Coinbase vs. Coinbase Pro

If you would like to close your account, the first step is to know the difference between your Coinbase and Coinbase Pro account, if you have both accounts.

Coinbase Pro is separate from Coinbase.com, but shares many of your account settings and profile information.

The reason for the differences in pricing is that Coinbase.com and Coinbase Pro are different products, and service a different audience. Coinbase Pro targets more advanced traders, who we hope will bring volume to the exchange. Coinbase is designed for retail customers, and focuses on providing the easiest possible buying experience.

IMPORTANT: Please note that deleting your Coinbase.com account will ultimately delete your Coinbase Pro account as well.

If you'd still like to close your account, please follow the steps below. 

To close your account, select the Close Account button located near the bottom of the Activity page. 

You'll need to have a zero balance before you can close your account. If you still have a remaining balance in any of your wallets, you'll need to send your funds to an external wallet or fellow Coinbase user. Alternatively, you can donate your remaining crypto to GiveCrypto.org. GiveCrypto is a nonprofit that distributes cryptocurrency to people living in poverty by connecting them to an open financial system.

Does Coinbase retain my email address after I close my account?

Coinbase will retain some of your personal information for a minimum of five years or as necessary to comply with our legal obligations, to prevent fraud, or to resolve disputes, as outlined in the Coinbase Privacy Policy.

Was this article helpful?

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact us